Spiced apple cake

apple-cake

Autumn is my favourite season. And this has been a particularly glorious autumn: crisp and sunny days, trees burning with autumnal hues, polished conkers lying on the ground. Yes: I am feeling poetic and creatively inspired. ‘Tis the season of mists, mellow fruitfulness and maturing sun. I even managed a drink (hot) in a pub garden last weekend after a long morning walk. My seasonal fervour has seeped through to my cooking and I’m particularly proud of this spiced apple cake which was/is a veritable success. Friends, family and colleagues that demonstrate culinary prowess have been asking me (frequently) “what can I make that you can eat?” Especially so at work where it sometimes feels as if I’m in an episode of Bake Off: our office kitchen is a daily delight and danger with so many skilled bakers about! So here is something that I can eat which you can also enjoy (I hope that others with gastroparesis are also able to sample this too):

Ingredients

Dry:

2 cups (around 200g) sprouted spelt flour (I use Rude Health because it is light and nutty in flavour)

2 tsp baking powder (I use Barkats baking powder which doesn’t have aluminium in)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

Wet:

3 eggs

2 small eating apples peeled, cored and diced into cubes. (I invested in an apple peeler this year which is a wonderfully simple gadget that peels, cores and slices apples in minutes)

2 fluid oz maple syrup

2 fluid oz runny honey

100g butter melted (I am better with around 50g but this does make the cake quite dry – more like a loaf)

Instructions

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celsius

Grease and line a loaf tin (approx 5 x 9 inches) with baking parchment

In a large mixing bowl, fork the eggs through and then combine the melted butter, eggs, maple syrup and honey together in the bowl

In a smaller bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and ground cloves

Sieve the dry ingredients into the wet and fold together gently. Add in the diced apple

Pour the batter into the loaf tin

Bake in the oven for 50-60 minutes or until a knife/skewer comes out clean when inserted. If the cake begins to darken a lot in the final 15 minutes, cover the cake with foil or turn the heat down slightly.

Leave the cake to cool for 5-10 minutes before taking out of the loaf tin and cool completely on a wire rack.

Tips

I eat dairy as a condiment these days but love having this cake with a spoonful of yogurt (I use Yeo Valley‘s 0% fat because of the taste, ingredients, provenance and fat content). I imagine cream or ice-cream would be the missing cherry on the cake (so to speak).

This cake freezes very well!

Leave a Reply

